ViralPayouts vs Mention Me
ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. With Mention Me, you pay your affiliates yourself and has no two-tier recruiting. It does not publish its prices.
Every figure for Mention Me comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.
Why brands pick ViralPayouts over Mention Me
Best fit: A brand that wants creators and affiliates paid in cash per sale, with recruiters growing the partner base, and no upfront contract.
- $0 a month
No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
- Payouts done for you
One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.
- Recruiters built in
Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.
Side by side
| Mention Me | ViralPayouts | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Not published: quote on request | $0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month. |
| Setup fee | Not stated | None |
| Fee for paying affiliates | Not stated | Included in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank |
| Pays your affiliates for you | No | Yes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner |
| Two-tier recruiting | No | Yes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups |
| Public program directory | No | Yes Partners browse and join with one account |
| Tracking | JavaScript tags; Entry Point API (server-side); Consumer API order tracking; Name Share (name-based attribution for offline word of mouth) | First-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook |
| Coupon tracking | Yes | Yes A code per partner, per program |
| Mobile app tracking | Yes | App installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app. |
| API, webhooks, MCP | API, webhooks | REST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks |
| Integrations | Klaviyo, Emarsys / SAP (SAP-endorsed app), Braze, Bloomreach, Salesforce Marketing Cloud | Stripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API |
Mention Me plans in full
- Custom pricing: price not published. Quote via form asking annual online revenue band; "free tech integrations, and competitor benchmarks included"
Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of Mention Me
What Mention Me offers
DTC and consumer brands (fashion, beauty, health, food and drink, travel, financial services, insurance) that want a customer refer-a-friend program with A/B testing and name-based attribution. Customer referral, not an affiliate/publisher network.
Customer referral software · G2 4.4 (61 reviews) · Capterra 4.6 (11 reviews) · Trustpilot 1.9 (22 reviews)
Why ViralPayouts is the better choice
- Published, simple fee (10% falling to 3% of partner payouts) with no monthly or setup fee versus quote-only pricing
- Pays real cash commissions to partners via Whop; Mention Me rewards are discounts, gift cards and account credit
- Two levels built in (recruiter override); Mention Me has none
- Public program directory for partners to discover programs
What Mention Me users say
Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.
Praise
- Account management and support described as second to none. g2.com
- Referral drives a large share of acquisition (one reviewer: up to 20% of all acquisitions) at lower cost. g2.com
- Non-technical staff can run experiments and changes without developers; quick to set up. capterra.com
- A/B testing of incentives and messaging is valued. g2.com
Complaints
- Inflexible platform; customer journey is fixed; design customization limited. g2.com
- Some changes (e.g. codes) only possible via support team, which can be slow. capterra.com
- Self-referral fraud and customers gaming the program are a concern. g2.com
- End consumers report referral rewards stuck on 'delay processing your reward' or never arriving; codes failing at checkout. trustpilot.com
About Mention Me
- In their words:
- "You're missing 93% of your customer referrals." (H1; title: "The Referral Marketing Platform Brands Trust | Mention Me")
- Company:
- Founded 2013 · London, UK · Independent, VC-backed; co-founders Andy Cockburn (CEO) and Tim Boughton
- Funding:
- $7M Series A (2018, led by Eight Roads Ventures) + $25M Series B (2022, led by Octopus Ventures); GetLatka totals $32M
- Team:
- About 113 (GetLatka estimate, Dec 2024)
- Named customers:
- Michael Kors, PlayStation, Puma, Gymshark, Charlotte Tilbury, Ocado, AJ Bell, ASOS, Pret a Manger (2022)
- Website:
- mention-me.com
Try ViralPayouts on test money
Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.
Sources for Mention Me (15), checked 12 October 2026
- https://www.mention-me.com/
- https://www.mention-me.com/pricing-page
- https://www.mention-me.com/integrations
- https://www.mention-me.com/compare/talkable-alternative
- https://docs.mention-me.com/api-reference/introduction
- https://docs.mention-me.com/api-reference/webhooks/overview
- https://docs.mention-me.com/developer-docs/integration/native-apps
- https://docs.mention-me.com/knowledge/referral/offers/reward-types.md
- https://www.g2.com/products/mention-me/reviews
- https://capterra.com/p/164540/Mention-Me/
- https://www.trustpilot.com/review/mention-me.com
- https://getlatka.com/companies/mention-me
- https://www.uktech.news/news/70079-20180717
- https://techcrunch.com/2022/01/20/customer-referral-platform-mention-me-raises-25m-series-led-by-octopus-ventures
- https://wiserreview.com/blog/mention-me-pricing/
Mention Me is a trademark of its owner. ViralPayouts is not affiliated with Mention Me. Prices and features change: check mention-me.com before you decide. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.