Teachable logoCreator and checkout platform

ViralPayouts vs Teachable

ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. With Teachable, paying affiliates for you is optional or extra and does not say it has two-tier recruiting. It costs $39 to $189 a month + 7.5% to 7.5% of transactions.

Every figure for Teachable comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.

Why brands pick ViralPayouts over Teachable

Best fit: A brand selling outside Teachable, or one that wants partners recruiting partners and paying only a fee on payouts instead of a monthly plan.

  • $0 a month

    No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.

  • Payouts done for you

    One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.

  • Recruiters built in

    Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.

Start a program free

Side by side

TeachableViralPayouts
Price$39 to $189 a month + 7.5% to 7.5% of transactions$0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
Setup feeNot statedNone
Fee for paying affiliatesNot statedIncluded in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank
Pays your affiliates for youOptionalvia Teachable BackOffice (PayPal)Yes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner
Two-tier recruitingNot statedYes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups
Public program directoryNoYes Partners browse and join with one account
TrackingAffiliate links on Teachable-hosted pages; First-click attribution by defaultFirst-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook
Coupon trackingNot statedYes A code per partner, per program
Mobile app trackingNot statedApp installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app.
API, webhooks, MCPAPI, webhooksREST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks
IntegrationsTeachable Payments / BackOffice, Make, Public API and webhooks (Growth plan and up)Stripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API
Teachable plans in full
  • Starter: $39 a month, plus 7.5% of transactions. 5 products, 1 admin; affiliate program not listed on this plan
  • Builder: $89 a month. 10 products, 1 admin; affiliate program included
  • Growth: $189 a month. 50 products, 5 admins; affiliates, API and webhooks
  • Custom: price not published. Contact sales
Pricing source

Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of Teachable

What Teachable offers

Course creators, coaches and membership owners who want a hosted school with checkout, and a simple built-in affiliate feature for selling their own products.

Creator and checkout platform · G2 3.8 (52 reviews) · Trustpilot 3.3 (1,108 reviews)

Why ViralPayouts is the better choice

  • Two-level recruiter override on every program; Teachable documents only single-level commissions
  • No monthly fee vs $89-$189/mo needed to unlock affiliates
  • Works for any product sold via Stripe, Shopify or an event API, not just Teachable-hosted courses
  • Public directory where partners find and join programs; Teachable has none

What Teachable users say

Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.

Praise

  • Support answered quickly and checked understanding (Rebbecca A Harris, Oct 2026). trustpilot.com
  • Checkout, payment plans, subscriptions and student experience well designed (Bonnie Harvey, Sep 2026). trustpilot.com
  • More powerful and better supported than other platforms tried (Mike Goss, Jul 2026). trustpilot.com

Complaints

  • Overly complicated, glitches, coupons stop working, ~2-day support replies (Laura GB, Sep 2026). trustpilot.com
  • No 24-hour chat support for the monthly price (Paul P., Jan 2026). trustpilot.com
  • Costs rise as the business grows via learner limits and fees; creator community discontinued (kristi talagan, Aug 2026). trustpilot.com
  • Long-time customer leaving over poor software, rising prices and weak support (Christian Sunderdiek, Aug 2026). trustpilot.com

About Teachable

In their words:
"Teachable — Build & Sell Online Courses, Coaching, Memberships" (site title)
Company:
Founded 2013 (by Ankur Nagpal, originally named Fedora) · Founded in New York; current HQ not stated in source · Wholly owned subsidiary of Hotmart (Brazil), acquired 2020 for roughly $250M
Funding:
$15.2M across four rounds before acquisition (Accomplice, Atlas Venture, Learn Capital, angels)
Website:
teachable.com

Try ViralPayouts on test money

Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.